73 Comments
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

I think there are two lists: one list of things that make me feel good and help sustain me and the other list are things that help me regulate when I'm feeling terrible.

Things that make me feel good and sustain me:

Being outside (walking, chilling in the hammock), reading fiction, rock climbing, lifting weights, casual conversations with friends, ice cream.

Things that help me regulate:

Crossword puzzles, sudoku, vertex, reading fiction, going outside, ice cream.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Going to bed on time/getting enough sleep - even when it makes me the not-cool person who leaves early or can't make late plans - is HUGE. My mental state erodes SO QUICKLY when I'm sleep-deprived, so making sure I'm well rested is my #1 self-care item.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Here's my little list:

- Dogs. They just make me happy and get me out of the house.

- Singing. Helps me be in tune (pun intended) with my breathing and takes my mind off things.

- Writing. Dark poems are one of my best outlets.

- Quiet time. No cell phone, no music, no tasks, just myself and maybe a cup of tea.

- Cleaning. Sounds horrible, but having a clean space just makes my head so much clearer and reduces anxiety.

- Exercise. Now this can be a tricky one as someone who has ~mostly~ recovered from EDs and exercise addiction, but really pushing myself and getting my heart pumping for the right reasons is great.

- Love. From partners, friends, animals, family and from myself.

Now go be kind to yourself in the way that works best for you โ™ก

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Taking my meds is a big one. Showering regularly (really any bathing at all counts but I don't have a big enough bathtub for baths ATM). Candles or a fireplace - bc for some reason looking at (controlled safe) fire makes my brain feel good.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

This is such a good question! Genuinely I think it's allowing myself to read a novel (with my phone in another room) while not feeling guilty for not "achieving" something. I forget that a) I don't have to be achieving something/productive all the time and b) allowing myself time to read/do something I enjoy *is* an achievement! :)

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

My self care involves ironing my clothes and sorting and putting away the laundry. It sounds like such a petty thing but having my clothes tidy and clean makes me feel better about myself when i wear them. Good food and walks outside help a lot also

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Last Friday, I had a really great day where I spent the day with my partner buying garden stuff and new plants and bird feeders and then he showed me how to change my rear brake pads and holy shit it was so empowering. I'm so excited for my garden this year and I felt really great about learning something completely new to me that saved me like $150! Self-care to me includes being "productive" like cleaning my space or preparing for my hobbies because I get to check a box and not think about it for a while. Just like cleansing the body, it feels like cleansing my brain and an accomplishment at the same time!

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Setting boundaries! Firstly, it's important for me to have free time to do things that I want to do (or things that I have to do, like eating and sleeping), but secondly, the act of saying "no, I don't have the time or energy or inclination to do that" without apology is so powerful for me. I don't do it nearly enough, but I always feel particularly badass for a couple days afterwards.

At a slightly easier level, taking 10 minutes to clean up my desk and short meditations (I've been using Headspace a bit) are also really helpful.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

My self care includes outdoor time. Being outside is so beneficial for me and just makes me feel good! Specifically when itโ€™s warm out and the sun is shining. Something about the bright sunshine and warmth on my skin does wonders for me. Getting that natural vitamin D is so good for the soul! Also spending time in nature like at a park in the woods. Seeing the trees, flower, and wildlife. It just makes me happy and is a great โ€œresetโ€! Also just enjoying it. Not snapping photos and just living in the moment for me. This is one of the best sources of self care for me.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Making things is really necessary to me. When Iโ€™m at my worst I canโ€™t make things and it becomes a negative feedback. As soon as Iโ€™m capable of making something - even if my fatigue and pain mean Iโ€™m laying down with my eyes closed, I feel the benefit. Knitting is the easiest, but I also enjoy embroidery, cross stitch and sewing.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Knitting a blanket when I didn't know how to knit 2 weeks ago, starting an artistic project and really getting into it, being held by a loved one (maybe that's outside of self care but it gives me a warm feel good energy) โ˜บ๏ธ

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Making sure I can recognize when it starts to get bad and jumping the gun on taking care of myself. I get easily overstimulated by lights/noises so when I notice too much is going on before it starts to affect me I make sure to turn everything off and let my partner know whatโ€™s going on so I can avoid the fallout

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Definitely bubble baths! And face/hair masks. Going for a walk, getting a massage, treating myself to a pink drink at Starbucks or my favorite Thai vegan ๐Ÿ’–

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

My most recent self care was playing Sims ALL weekend and going back to work rested and refreshed. Normally I feel guilty for doing something like that but this time I didnโ€™t and it made aaaaall the difference

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

I will pick a day (or several hours) when I don't /have/ to do anything. It is just obligation-free time when there is nothing that I "should" be doing. After indulging in some guilt-free scrolling on my phone or TV binging I'll usually find myself doing something that feels productive and improves well-being like preparing delicious food or finally getting around to a load of laundry. I'm incredibly grateful to my therapist for turning me on to this idea (and incredibly grateful to even have access to a therapist in the first place).

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

For me it's small (and not so small) things - walk alone with some nice audiobook in my ears, sitting in the coffeeshop enjoying coffee and something delicious, yoga practice, cooking and baking (when I have time and don't have to hurry or don't have my babies screaming next to me), sex, and the most important selfcare for me is therapy.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Because Iโ€™m the opposite of an โ€œachievingโ€ type, a new thing Iโ€™m realizing is that itโ€™s really important for me to set the timer for a twenty minute block and get some cleaning or other projects around the house done when Iโ€™m in a major funk. My brain is a very busy place so another important aspect of self care is shutting down the endless stream of thought for a bit. One of the most reliable ways for me to do that is to do a puzzle or color while listening to an audiobook or podcast. Other deep self care is getting time in nature, taking photographs, and making things. I love all the things like baths and meditation and yummy food, but Iโ€™m finding that when I really need to pull myself out of a bad place, itโ€™s often more practical and simple things that allow me to do that work.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Keeping a diary to help me put the difficult bits of the day into perspective and remember the happy bits. Keeping the space around me tidy. Drinking lots of water. Prayer as well, although I don't do as much of that as I'd like. And yoga!

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Walking, puzzles, sleeping, cooking and moving my body. The list below is so lovely.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Eating regularly, drinking a lot of water, and getting enough sleep is my self care baseline.

If I need more tenderness I add wrapping in a blanket or sitting in the sun with a favorite show or book, a long walk among trees, or sitting and watching the sea.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

- eating good proper big meals when my mind feels extra wobbly

- going on walks every day, taking photos of little details (like flowers) when I feel overwhelmed (zooming in helps with the dread?)

- listening to my playlist of instrumental music that is so pleasant it does not evoke any emotion except perhaps a little delight, it slows my heart down Iโ€™ve noticed.

- naps

- having a real nice quality blanket (a cotton bed spread) on the couch to crawl under whenever desired.

- heating cream on my shoulder blade area after a bath

- drawing

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

I love this topic! Self-care for me is doing something just for fun (not to be productive) Sometimes itโ€™s paddle boarding or getting a pedicure or trying something new. My usual self-care routine is taking my meds, having a book to read, eating regularly, squishing my dog, gentle yoga, and talking with friends or partner about my mental health. โค๏ธ

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Going for a walk in the fresh air. Listening to Harry Potter audio book. Watching a feel good film I have seen lots of times. Cleaning the house. Making soup. Washing my hair ๐Ÿ˜Š

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

My self care: dog walking, being outside, animal cuddling of any kind, feeding wildlife, my morning and night time routines, weighted eye pillow for sleep, watching buffy the vampire slayer or Harry Potter, eating comfort foods, not being reachable on my phone, drinking cider, being creative such as decoupage.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

For me it is having nutritous food that makes me feel like I'm being gentle to my body, listening to soft jazz or bossa nova, practising yoga at my own pace, talking walks outside or taking care of my plants - being connected to nature really helps me feel grounded โ™ฅ

Expand full comment
Mar 31, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

-Reading before bed and getting early nights

-Going out for regular walks in nature

-Eating well

-Moving my body in some way, whether that's yoga, aerial training, cycling or swimming

Expand full comment
Mar 31, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

New to my list is taking a break when things get stressful. I have to learn a lot for exams and whenever I feel very overwhelmed by the amount I have to learn, I give my brain a break by having a cup of tea or coffee, sit on the terrace, go for a wee walk, cook a nice meal, just lie in bed for a bit, watch a TV series, read a novel, call my sister... somehow this works wonders for me.

Expand full comment
Mar 31, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Very good idea and already part of self-care โค๏ธ what I usually try first is to meditate but lying down to give rest to my body. Love the body scans from Plum Village, and yoga nidra (sessions can be found on various apps or channels). I check in with my body more often now, to be more in tune with what she's telling me (I suffer from chronic back pain). Helps me to get out of my head, too ! And when I can, I go outside for a walk and smell every flower or look for color and texture variety in nature. Bad weather? Drawing, writing, playing with my two cats, putting on music or preparing a tiny bath for my feet... A foot spa at home ..

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Mine includes taking my meds, showering under HOTTTTTTT water, cuddling my pets, and putting calming music or nature sounds on in the background.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Here's what I do for self-care:

Take a nap when I'm tired

Games and puzzles

Reading everyday is a big one!

Exercise (which I divide between going outside for a walk or doing a HIIT workout)

I can't draw to save my life, but I do use stencils and adult colouring books

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Lying on my back at every opportunity watching the skyโ€ฆ wrapped up cosy on chilly days, marvelling at the blue on sunny days

Promising to never pass a rose without sniffing it

Noticing the smell of freshly-mown grass

Talking out loud to myselfโ€ฆ โ€˜what do you need, darling?โ€™ โ€˜How you doing?โ€™ And respectfully listening to the answers

My hot water bottle, even if the weather isnโ€™t cold

Sending love to dear friends

Keeping an eye on when Iโ€™m spending more time in other peopleโ€™s lives than my ownโ€ฆ checking that the news, social media, box set, podcast or playlist isnโ€™t stopping me checking in with myself

Dancing, wherever, whenever

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

Get outside. Whatever the weather. Talk to people, strangers for mini conversations, friends for deeper ones. Donโ€™t text the shitty friends or exes that will not respond in a validating way. Cuddle my son. Fuzz my silly cat. Eat foods that feel good for my soul and breathe.

Expand full comment
Mar 30, 2022Liked by Megan Jayne Crabbe

There are things I do to make me happy but the real self care which is tough worm but makes me feel a lot better is showers, dressing well and doing skincare so I look and feel put together, it helps me so much mentally. And exercise is a big one I'm trying to work on

Expand full comment

I love taking my dog on long walks with music or podcasts on. It feels lovely to be outside and to be bringing my dog joy too from exercise. I also really like cleaning when I'm stressed, things feel less chaotic and more achievable with a clean apartment.

Expand full comment

I try to look upโ€ฆclouds make me happy and taking pictures of the sky reminds me very few things last forever. Also, musicโ€ฆI always listen to music โค๏ธโค๏ธ

Expand full comment

True self care for me includes getting 8 hours of sleep (slash just making myself go to bed), drinking enough water, eating regularly (bonus if it's yummy and helps me get enough protein), exercising (whether that's a walk, yoga or a hard spin class), going to therapy, journalling, making and going to appointments/getting my adulting stuff done and reaching out to or spending time with friends. Putting the phone down and staying off social media. Setting and holding boundaries. Also cat and pony cuddles!

The feel good self care stuff includes massages, baths, watching favourite movies or playing video games, eating favourite foods, treating myself, travel/mini adventures. It's nice but not essential self care.

Expand full comment

Some of these only work if I have the energy for it, but all are helpful: Forcing myself to drink a bunch of water even if I donโ€™t feel particularly thirsty. Eating plenty of fruits and vegetables. Gentle stretching to work out the knots in my muscles. Creating something. Nature walks. Putting on perfume because it makes me feel fancy and I take more deep breaths. Also, can 100% confirm that short meditations have made me feel calmer and more focused this week despite a demanding work schedule.

Expand full comment